Need to get on that evaluation thing

So, one of my courses (a full-year course) prohibits laptops in class.

This is a problem. I essentially can’t take notes without my laptop. Because my handwriting is illegible if I write at note-taking speed and even then it cramps up in pain fifteen minutes in to a 3-hr course. And, because I’ve been doing my writing and note-taking exclusively with my laptop for the past 4 years, I have much less tolerance for the discomfort before it becomes unbearable than I used to.

But I have no formal diagnosis, so I can’t ask for accommodation from the uni. Experience tells me that when profs are this adamant in their syllabus, they’re unwilling to make an exception unless word comes from the accessibility center.

Shit.

Well, I have a good memory & prof puts the slides and all course material online, so I hope I’ll be able to cope without notes. 

I knew this would happen eventually.

I really need to get on that evaluation. Once my paperwork is sorted, I’ll set it up.

 

7 thoughts on “Need to get on that evaluation thing

  1. autisticook says:

    Is there a way for you to disclose to another student and make a deal with them? Maybe they can use some help typing up their handwritten notes or organising them logically or something. That way you both get something out of it.

    • ischemgeek says:

      I know nobody in the class, so… maybe? Depends on who’s in it and how long it takes me to be able to talk to them.

      • autisticook says:

        Bugger. Not an easy solution then (talking to strangers nearly as stressful as talking to authority figures with rigid ideas). Maybe someone else has a better idea.

        Perhaps you can smuggle a tape recorder into class?

      • ischemgeek says:

        Audio processing is bad, so tape recorder might not be great. If I had a video camera or could afford one with a good enough built-in microphone, I’d ask if I could video tape it so she could put it on her website. But I don’t. So… rock, hard place.

  2. autisticook says:

    Oh. Erm. I just realised your post title wasn’t “How can I fix this problem?” So. Also. Validation. Yes. Evaluation thing = good idea.

    I’m the guy in this video:

    • ischemgeek says:

      No worries. I can’t very well get angry at you for something I do a lot, can I? XD If you’re like me, it comes from a place of, “You’re upset because [problem]. I don’t like that you’re upset. If I help you fix [problem], [problem] will go away and then you won’t be upset!”

      Except imperfect info means sometimes you suggest stuff people already tried or misreading situation means that sometimes someone’s upset about a situation they just have to tolerate for now and you’re reading it as problem that needs fixing. I get it. I do it a lot. XD

  3. […] I’ve talked about the importance of self-accommodation before, and I’ve talked about how financial barriers to diagnosis can result in being unable to access accommodations to ensure fu… This current post is actually inspired by two situations going on: One is the treatment […]

Leave a Reply

