What I hear

The refridgerator’s compressor. HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Ventilation. SHHHHHHHH.

A fan. eeeeeeeeee.

Computer. Whirrrrrr.

Freezer. Hmmmmmmmmmm.

Someone turning a page. Flutter-flutter. Flutter-flutter.

My typing. clackityclackityclack.

Someone muttering. What, I don’t know.

Someone eating. Crunch.

The oven. Click. Click-click.

My breathing. huhhh.

Someone shuffling their feet. Scritch, scritch, scritch, scritch.

The fluorescent lights. Eeeeeeeee.

Someone coughing. Cough-cough.

…. All this and more is what I hear. Do you?

3 thoughts on “What I hear

  1. autisticook says:

    Cat eating kibble from her plastic food bowl. A car passing. Someone walking past on the street. A train braking. Airplane. Soooo many sounds.

    I posted on Facebook this morning about sound issues too! “I have to admit, the weirdest part of my autism spectrum diagnosis is coming to terms with the fact that not everybody hears and sees things the same way I do. Acting on that information takes some time, though. So I was chatting to the nice lady at the newspaper shop this morning about the awful weather we had yesterday, and she mentioned the hail so I nodded and added some remark about how incredibly LOUD it was too. And she looked at me curiously and then said, “Well, yeah, now that you mention it, it was a bit noisy.” (PS for those of you who are skeptical: I don’t have superhearing. I just have problems filtering out sounds that aren’t important. So I hear everything at the same volume level, basically).”

    • ischemgeek says:

      My family used to wonder why I’d blast music at high volume when I was so sensitive to loud noises. Simple: Put earplugs in and hide under the blankets, and all I could hear was the music. It was the closest thing I could get to quiet in my parents’ place.

  2. Alana says:

    I hear the airplanes going over my house and the fridge humming and the cars driving by and me typing and my roommate talking to her family two rooms aways. My radiator dripped and the steam running through the pipes. And sometimes ambulances.

Leave a Reply

