Some days

At martial arts

Kid: *garbled noise*
Me: huh?
Kid: *repeat noise, parsed as “Ask can ally oh cat?”*
Me: *pause* *blink* Erm, repeat slowly?
Kid: Oh, sorry. Wrong class. Can *noise* bathroom?
Me: Bathroom? Sorry, I didn’t hear you correctly.
Kid: I’m in French immersion. Sometimes I use French by mistake. I said, “est-ce je peux aller aux toilettes?”
Me: I understand the French, just didn’t hear it right with the background noise.
Kid: Okay. *noise, not parsed sensibly except immersion was in there somewhere*
Me: *realizes kid probably wants to go to the bathroom* Go ahead.

Some days, it’s hard for me to make sense of anything people say to me if other stuff is going on. Background noise + stress makes words hard.

6 thoughts on “Some days

  1. autisticook says:

    Very recognisable. The last time this happened to me, in a very crowded bar, I finally resorted to the “I’m a foreigner, please talk slowly” trick after asking the server to repeat herself three times.

  2. This happens to me all the time. Background noise plus lack of context that would allow me to guess at the content are usually the culprits. It’s worse if I can’t see the person’s mouth because I use lip reading to help me work out unexpected language.

  3. Aspermama says:

    I can definitely relate to this. Usually I just have to try to fill in the gaps and give a generic answer, but it’s hard when someone asks a question directly. I think sometimes my responses are a bit off. I should probably try lip-reading more too.

    • ischemgeek says:

      ha! I’m the master of the generic nonanswer.

      Also having whole conversations without ever referring to a person by name. Even when making introductions. “Hey! Have I introduced you to [partner], my boyfriend?”

      (then the person usually says, “Hi, I’m [theirname]” and I don’t have to work past my difficulty in recognizing people out of context)

Leave a Reply

