Info-dump

Someone asks a question about artificial sweeteners on a forum. Others post one or two sentence responses, for the most part long on personal opinion and short on fact.

I write an 8-paragraph essay. With references. I would have included figures, but they wouldn’t fit. I might reproduce the essay at some point in the future, but it’s not good enough for me to want to put it in a blog yet, so I’d have to work on it more.

Moral of the story: Don’t ask me to info-dump on something related to a special interest – in this case, chemistry – unless you’re prepared for the consequences.

7 thoughts on “Info-dump

  1. autisticook says:

    The worst part for me is when someone asks an off-the-cuff question and I spend the next 3 hours researching it. And then coming back with the 8 paragraph answer with references and links and figures. And discovering that they’re not actually all that interested.

    • ischemgeek says:

      For me, it’s that I’m prone to SIWOTI syndrome, and I have situations where I’m sitting there thinking, “I know I’m going to come off as an insufferable know-it-all for this, but it’s wrong and it bugs me.”

      It can get to the point where it’s like a compulsion. It’s wrong. And it’s just there, being wrong. And that it’s wrong bugs me. So I want to correct it. Because it’s wrong. I’ve accidentally been four or five hours late getting home because there was something I saw that was wrong and I needed to write up a suitably thorough correction. It interferes with my life on occasion. Fortunately, my chosen career path means that at work, it’s actually a strength. Otherwise, I’d be in trouble. XD

      This is why I have facebook news feed disabled. If I don’t see them be wrong, I don’t feel the urge to correct it! XD

      • autisticook says:

        That particular XKCD comic is one of my favourites. 😀

      • ischemgeek says:

        I thought you would be. Also, his tendency to take stuff to the logical absurd extreme in his What If? series never fails to have me in stitches with laughter, because that’s the sort of stuff I’d do to amuse myself in physics class in high school when I was bored.

        It’s also why my high school implemented maximum page limits on assignments. And why I got sent to the school psychologist (it’s a long story, the moral of which is that physics teachers don’t like it if you bring reality into their superhero scenarios).

      • ischemgeek says:

        I’ve actually got a post scheduled for tomorrow about this, now. Because I want to write about why I fall victim to SIWOTI tendencies.

  2. […] I’m very prone to Someone Is Wrong On The Internet (SIWOTI) syndrome. It’s that urge to correct something that’s wrong. It’s tied in with my tendency to infodump. […]

  3. I don’t really understand why people have a problem with being info-dumped on (unless they’re busy or have something important they want to say or something like that).
    My best memories of high school are probably going to be staying after class and listening to my chemistry teacher talk endlessly about entropy and crystal structure and other really cool stuff. In other words, listening to him infodump about chemistry.

Leave a Reply

