On the topic of religion

Hey, fundamentalist Christians in general,

Let’s make a deal. I won’t compare you to Mary Queen of Scots or the leaders of the Spanish Inquisition if you quit comparing me to Pol Pot and Stalin, K?

Actually, I already don’t compare you to religious tyrants and war-mongers of history. Even if you share their religion. In fact, the only time I’ll point to those people is to show how theocracy can be really really bad. And you know what? You don’t have to argue with me that forced atheism would be bad. That’s not what I’m aiming for – I’m aiming for secularism. So quit with the false dichotomies while we’re at it.

So, Christians in my life, how about you extend me the same favor I’ve already extended towards you and not engage in dehumanizing rhetoric by comparing me to your pet bogeyman? Address my arguments, not my religious beliefs or lack thereof. 

Regards,

Me

 

One thought on “On the topic of religion

Leave a Reply

