My hat

A coworker gave me a hat a few months ago. She said it was too small for her and that she noticed me squinting really hard when I go outside and thought the sunlight might bug me (it does, but I’m nearsighted liek whoa and can’t afford prescription sunglasses, and don’t even try to recommend clip-ons because I hate them). So she said instead of returning the hat, she wanted to give it to me.

I was tentative at first. I’m not a hat person. They fall off and itch and sometimes get caught in my hair and tug it and that hurts. But this hat was different. It had an elastic to hold it on my head and was all fabric on the underside so my hair wouldn’t get caught and cotton not wool so it wouldn’t itch, so I tried it. I told myself I’d wear it for three days, and if I still didn’t like it, I didn’t have to wear it anymore (the first day is always an I hate this because it’s different and wrong! day, the second is an ehhhh, getting used to it, I guess day and the third is when I actually make up my opinion on really new things, like brand-new classes of garments).

Now, if I’m outside (and I didn’t forget it at home), I’m wearing my hat. Always. Why didn’t I get one before?! It’s my favorite garment. Better than the soft cotton shirts I lucked into on a sale rack that feel smooth and gentle and even have no tags. Better than shoes with the special custom insoles that prevent my knees from hating how much walking, running and bouncing down stairs I do even though my ankles are wonky and can’t keep them in good alignment without support (I don’t walk down stairs, I bounce down them. Yes, I do realize that I’m twenty-six, not six). Better even than the lucky find of the pants with real pockets. It.  Is. Awesome.

Because with the hat, I can go walking outside in bright sunlight, and I don’t have to close my eyes for four steps out of every 5. It hurts a little, but it’s not eyes-want-to-explode pain.

I ❤ my hat.

8 thoughts on “My hat

  1. autisticook says:

    Awesome! I really like how you worked out the three day rule as well. (And bouncing down stairs, yay!)

    • ischemgeek says:

      My 3 day rule came after a few instances where I found that I actually really liked something, but only after circumstances forced me to try it repeatedly. Sashimi, for example.

  2. Alana says:

    That sounds like an awesome hat if it can beat pants with real pockets.

    I buy really large cheap sunglasses and just stuff them over my glasses, but I can see how that is something that probably most people wouldn’t like. (It’s sort of strange)

    • ischemgeek says:

      For me it’s kind of a sensory issue – same reason why I hate clip-ons. 1, too heavy. 2, the lenses reflect off each other and then I find it hard to see anything.

      • Alana says:

        Yeah, that makes sense. I’ve never really found anyone else who likes the double sunglasses thing… and I don’t even really do it if I have a choice. Usually I’ll just take off my glasses and replace them with sunglasses since I have good enough eyes not to run into things without my glasses. I really only do the double thing at the rare times when I need to REALLY see and there is sun shining in my eyes. (In high school, I had to drive to school directly into the rising sun. And since it was a 40 minute drive, the sun was usually rising most of the year at some point. And then the sun would be setting on the way back, often, because of activities and stuff my sister did. But driving is something where I really do need to see and facing directly into the sun is something where I really do need sunglasses).

        But other than those issues–and the fact that my new glasses are larger than any sunglasses I own–it is relatively effective. So basically, it rarely works.

        (I wasn’t sure exactly why you didn’t like clip ons)

  3. bjforshaw says:

    Yay! I love hats and almost never go out without wearing one, whether it’s a Panama in the sun, a bush hat in the rain, a flat cap for everyday or a Stetson for special occasions. I find they’re perfect for shading my eyes. I can’t wear sunglasses for long before they feel uncomfortable, and I’m limited in the styles I can wear comfortably — no wrap-arounds because my eyelashes touch the lenses and that feels so horrible (*shudder*).

    I first started wearing a hat for practical reasons: to avoid a sensory issue with my hair getting blown in my face, and now I don’t feel right if I’m outside without one on.

Leave a comment