YAY FOR MARRIAGE EQUALITY IN THE US!

I’m a day late because between my crappy ankles being crappy and getting sprained again (it happens at least twice a year for me – hypermobility fun times) and a 12 hour day at work, I was exhausted and spoonless.

But:

MARRIAGE EQUALITY PASSED 5-4 IN THE US SUPREME COURT! ALL OF MY AMERICAN FRIENDS CAN NOW MARRY THEIR PARTNERS AND ENJOY THE FULL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF MARRIAGE, REGARDLESS OF THE GENDER OF THEIR BELOVED!

No longer will a person’s beloved be forced from their ICU room. No longer will LGBT couples have to fear one of them becoming homeless if the other dies. No longer will homophobic family members be able to over-rule partners and kick them out in a crisis. No longer will LGBT couples have to carry around legal documents in case of emergency, as a constant reminder of their second-class status. No longer will LGBT couples have to deal with clueless straight people saying, “Marriage isn’t that big a deal. What do you need the dress and pomp and circumstance for? Just love each other and that’s enough.” No. More.

Because marriage equality is recognized now, in the US.

Oh, happy, happy, happy day.

And a long time coming.

4 thoughts on “YAY FOR MARRIAGE EQUALITY IN THE US!

  1. S-kw'etu'? says:

    Congratulations,
    although as an autistic indigenous woman who is asexual, or indifferent to the act, I hope one day my right to say no also become recognized.

    • ischemgeek says:

      I’m rejoicing on behalf of my US friends – I’m actually Canadian where marriage equality has been recognized for nearly a decade (will be a decade in mid-July).

      I strongly agree that recognition and elimination of stigma against asexual people is an important issue (I was asexual and aromantic for a long time – until my mid-20s, I had exactly zero interest in any kind of romance or sex, and even now, I could accurately call myself demisexual).

      • S-kw'etu'? says:

        It is something that should be rejoiced, human rights and the right to individually make ones own choices in regards to our own persons and bodies need to be applied to all people.

        I am also a Canadian, and the reason I am not on the missing and murdered women’s list is due to the help given to me by American people, in the form of information on sexual predators from a US detective and physical support by retired US military persons. Canada has a very serious problem within its justice and protective services, the lack of mental health care and the ongoing sweep it under the rug and pretend we are okay isn’t technically keeping anyone safer.

        These topics really, really need to be addressed because Canada is a seriously dangerous place for all people right now, not just the poor and marginalized. And actually the attitude the the poor and marginalized had it coming really disturbs me quite a bit.

        Basically I wish I could consider myself demisexual but do not have the freedom because of Canada! This freedom is something that my native family and culture does recognize, but not the state nor law enforcement.

        Sorry if this sounds negative but I am afraid for our children, all of them.

  2. Congratulations! Although I don’t have any friends in the US I was very happy when I read about it.
    I am German and we still don’t have marriage equality. I hope we’re next.

Leave a comment